Please note this website requires cookies in order to function correctly, they do not store any specific information about you personally. Accept | More Info
slideshow 01

SEARCH:

SIGN UP FOR UPDATES ON THE WEBSITE:

Newsletter Signup:





I want updates on:




About the Council

The Parish Council is made of 11 elected members who represent the views of local people in the parish of Wraxall & Failand.

Councillors give their time and expertise freely to consider planning applications and the day to day issues as they arise, they get involved in specific projects, and they act as advocates on community matters.

Parish Councillors can be emailed at these addresses:

Chairman@wraxallandfailand-pc.gov.uk

Paul.Amos@wraxallandfailand-pc.gov.uk

Richard.Delmas@wraxallandfailand-pc.gov.uk

Richard.King@wraxallandfailand-pc.gov.uk

Martin.Law@wraxallandfailand-pc.gov.uk

Ian.Malpas@wraxallandfailand-pc.gov.uk

Gillian.Moon@wraxallandfailand-pc.gov.uk

Ian.Parsons@wraxallandfailand-pc.gov.uk

Tom.Sage@wraxallandfailand-pc.gov.uk

Robert.Sheppard@wraxallandfailand-pc.gov.uk

The Parish Council has the legal power to take action but currently has few duties and thus has greater freedom to choose what action to take. It can play a vital part in representing the interests of the community and improving the quality of life and local environment. It can influence other decision makers and can, in many cases, deliver services to meet local needs. The Government is encouraging Parish Councils to deliver more services and play a greater part in their communities.

Tasks which the Parish Council undertake include providing a local view on crime, community safety, planning applications, highways and transportation, housing, street lighting, litter, playing fields, memorials, seats and shelters and public rights of way.

The Parish Council raises money by the Precept and spends it on a range of good works and staff salaries. It meets monthly in public session.

A secular Parish Council was established 1894 when the first councillors were elected. Previously the Parish Council had been controlled by the landowners and the church.

Meetings are held usually on the second Tuesday of the month, either in the Cross Tree Centre, Wraxall or Failand Village Hall. The public are welcome to attend these meetings.

Any matter may be brought to the attention of the Parish Council by a member of the public not less than 3 clear days before the Meeting (this does not include Sundays, therefore if the meeting is held on a Tuesday then the Clerk needs to be notified before the preceding Thursday). Any notice of motion by a Councillor must also be brought to the attention of the Clerk not less than 3 clear days before the Meeting (this does not include Sundays, therefore if the meeting is held on a Tuesday then the Clerk needs to be notified before the preceding Thursday).

The Annual Parish Meeting is usually held in May

Notice Boards display Councillors’ contact details, Agendas of meetings, and any public notices from North Somerset Council and are situated at:

• Failand - Church and Post Office;
• Wraxall village - bottom of Wraxall Hill and Bus Shelter at top of The Grove;
• The Elms, Wraxall - Green Pastures Road by the duck pond and Childrens’ play area, Yeo Valley Way.